My first online class experience with MongoDB

The summer before starting graduate school, I did an internship in a pharmaceutical company and I got to learn a lot of tools and softwares used in the industry. During that time I got interested in databases and tried to teach myself some basic stuff like MapReduce, SQL and Hadoop. Along the way I also came across a new database system called  MongoDB. It sounded like the cool Maverick out of the traditional database management systems. Essentially it is a schema less database management system that provides lot of flexibility in handling data compared to traditional relational database management systems (RDBMS).

I was really interested in learning about MongoDB, however after starting graduate school I got busy with the school work and put it on the back burner. While I was doing some mongodbother research, I came across MongoDB University an online platform to learn about MongoDB. It has courses for people with different programming experience (Python, Node.js, Java etc.). Since I am comfortable with python more than any other programs listed I planned to take the course on MongoDB for developers which uses python as the primary programming language. It is a 7 week long online course and they offer it throughout the year. However you have to lookout for it so that you can start from the first week and continue on. It is wise to sign up to their email newsletter so that you know when the courses start.

The M101P: MongoDB for developers covers basic operations in database management system such as insert, update and delete, schema design, performance, aggregation framework and application engineering. Each week there will be a series of video lectures along with quizzes and there is also weekly homework which counts for 50 % of the grade. At the end there is a final exam which counts for 50 % of the grade. Out of all the materials I liked the aggregation framework since that is what related to what I do in my research. performance and application engineering are mostly related to database administrative tasks. At the end they also presented some case studies from companies that use MongoDB such as Parse, a mobile app development environment and codecademy, an online platform to learn coding.

Through the course I was able to learn about using schemaless database such as MongoDB, the python version of MongoDB called pymongo and some fundamental concepts in databases. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in the next generation database designs!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

