Avocado and Quinoa Empanada

For the annual secret santa party I decided to make something instead of buying anything from the store. I have been giving a lot of excuses for impediment of my creative cooking. So I decided to make something savory since everyone tries to focus on sweet stuff for the christmas. I had some quinoa that my mom sent me, so I decided to make empanadas with quinoa and avocado. There may already be a receipt for this out there but I picked ingredients on the go and added different condiments to make it taste delicious. So here is my recipe for the empanada.

Ingredients:

  • buttermilk biscuit dough (If you can get the empanada dough or make it by yourself it will be even more delicious)
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 cup of qunioa
  • 1 red onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • salt (to your taste)
  • pepper (to your taste)
  • chilly powder (to your taste)
20161211_094526
Boiled Quinoa

First I made the stuffing for the empanada. I prepared the Quinoa in my usual way which is somewhat unusual. First I heat the quinoa with oil for five or so minutes and then add the water to boil it. While it was boiling I chopped the avocado, onion and tomatoes into small pieces. After quinoa is done I added the chopped avocado, onion and tomatoes.

 

 

20161211_100108
Quinoa with onion, avocado and tomatoes

Then I made the ‘cover’ for the empanada with the biscuit dough. Although I didn’t realize it first, biscuit dough gave sort of a sweet flavor and also it was very stretchy. If you don’t like either of those qualities in an empanada dough, I would highly recommend not to use biscuit dough. First I took handful of dough and used a rolling pin (in may case I didn’t have a rolling pin so I ended up using a cylindrical water bottle :)) to make it flat. Then I added the stuffing in one of the dough sheets and covered it with another dough  sheet.

 

20161211_102331
Empanadas before frying

Empanadas can be either baked or fried, since I am not a great baker I decided to deep fry them. I used just a pan with oil to fry them. But having a deep frier can be really helpful because my apartment felt like peek of the summer in the middle of December due to frying!

 

Some precautions to consider is that alway try to sell the cover so that stuffing won’t come out when you fry it and don’t make the dough cover too thin which will also lead to the spill of the stuffing.

20161211_103806
Golden brown empanadas after frying

I made enough for all my friends and it was all gone within 15 minutes. So I am sure it was delicious. And by the way I forgot to mention two more ingredients to the recipe: love for my friends and my passion for cooking!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

